Wednesday, April 7, 2010

What's Wrong With A Little Gang Starr?

In the wake of Guru's recent health problems Gang Starr mixes flooded the internet. This was the only one I even looked at, probably more so because of the weight I place in certain people's recommendation than because of the songs selected or the rep of Matthew Africa - I'd never heard of dude before.

This mix is a great demonstration of why Gang Starr are one of the best duos ever. Going seamlessly through 38 tracks you hear songs from every release they have, showing off Primo's trademark cuts and his always excellent use of jazz samples. Guru is the Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal, the voice doesn't even matter these days it's just good to hear him rock to beats of the appropriate caliber.

You can download the mix here courtesy of Matthew Africa. Check out the tracklist below and learn more here.

1. Intro
2. You Know My Steez
3. Just to Get a Rep
4. Mass Appeal
5. Step in the Arena
6. Now You're Mine
7. The Militia feat. Freddie Foxxx
8. B.Y.S.
9. Take It Personal
10. The ? Remainz
11. Full Clip
12. DWYCK feat. Nice & Smooth
13. Who's Gonna Take the Weight?
14. Jazz Thing
15. Soliloquy of Chaos
16. Check the Technique
17. Credit Is Due
18. Speak Ya Clout feat. Jeru the Damaja & Lil Dap
19. It'z a Setup feat. Hannibal
20. Words I Manifest (Remix)
21. 2 Deep
22. The Place Where We Dwell
23. Suckas Need Bodyguards
24. Flip the Script
25. What You Want This Time?
26. Love Sick
27. Ex Girl to Next Girl
28. The Planet
29. Make 'em Pay
30. Execution of a Chump
31. DJ Premier Is In Deep Concentration
32. Take Two & Pass
33. Gotta Get Over (Taking Loot)
34. Rite Where You Stand feat. Jadakiss
35. I'm the Man feat. Lil Dap & Jeru the Damaja
36. Code of the Streets
37. Tonz 'o' Gunz
38. Next Time

No comments:

Post a Comment